+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Small Canoe or HobieCat FishCat 75

Hybrid View

Default Small Canoe or HobieCat FishCat 75

I'm getting one or the other for 2009, but have very limited experience flyfishing from a canoe and have never used a one man pontoon. If you are not familiar with the FishCat 75 it has solid pontoons, it's not an inflatable.

The advantages I see in a small canoe are that I can take a friend with me who does not have a pontoon of thier own and it may be better in moving waters than the pontoon.

The advangages of the HobieCat 75 is that it will be smaller, so it will be easier (I think) to manuver on land and probably more stable on the water (when looking at tipping over).

So, what do I need to know about both so I can make a well informed purchase? Pros and cons of each?

Thanks.
    Fishing with bait is like swearing in church.

I have no experience with pontoon boats but I do with canoes.I fish alone so I have a 12' solo canoe that does everything it needs to do.Its light and easy to throw in the bed of my PU and easy to launch in the ponds.Ive had canoes of 17'and 14' but this one is best for what I do now.Pontoon boats would be a good choice for still water but I wouldnt want to run any rivers with them.They have limited space for gear also.If you plan on taking someone else with you,a 14' canoe is the minimum I would look at and a 16' would be better.Canoes are not as tippy as you think but you do need to learn how to handle them.Another option is that you can get outriggers for a canoe that would allow you to stand up and cast.Just a thought.Personally,I have never had a problem fly casting while sitting in a canoe but you will need anchors fore and aft to maintain your position.

Question New Canoe

You might want to take a look at the Nucanoe.

http://www.nucanoe.com/specs

A couple BB members have commented on them quite favorably.
    The fish are always right.

Slate Drake 9,