As most of you probably know by now, I am brand new at fly fishing and I can't wait to get started. I have been reading and practicing everyday, well I've been reading everyday. By the time I get home from work, it is already dark, so I have been practicing casting on weekends. Anyway, I guess I sort of got to reminiscing about fishing with my Dad as a kid. (just with spinning reel, he has never fly fished either) We had numerous fishing trips and at least 3 that really stand out as being pretty funny. At least they are to us, we still talk about them from time to time. I can tell 2 of them, the third would be self incriminating. I thought I would tell one, and see if any of the rest of you would like too.

I was about 12, when we made a trip to a local watershed. We took our fiberglass canoe. I had rode in one at 4-H camp and loved it. Dad found one for sale cheap and bought it, in fact we still have it. (can't wait to try it flyfishing, which brings me to alot more questions, but I'll hold off on those for now.) This is the only funny canoe story we have, where we were both still dry at the end of it. We had been fishing for maybe an hour or so, when it happened. Dad hung a big one, or so I thought.

As I don't know who will be reading this, I'll stop here and explain, that here in this part of the country we have what we call snapping turtles. Not the giant alligator snappers, like in florida, these are a smaller size. In fact I don't think I have ever seen one around here more than a foot or so across. Except for this one. Now I realize time has a way of changing facts in our minds, but this snapper was at least 2 ft across. It came to the top of the water, and it was mad. Dad had hooked it some how right in the side of the shell. Right where the top meets the bottom part of the turtle. We still don't know how it got hooked like that.