(note to admin, ... if product reviews aren't acceptable, ... just dump this )

Well, ... after receiving a gift from the monthly draw in the summer, ... we finally had the chance to put the Chota Deluxe Wading Jacket (CVX100)through it's paces.

The Chota product in action

Of course, ... the folks at Chota sent the jacket to the house, ... so Ren?e opened the package while I was at the office. Guess how inherited a brand new jacket??

Any way, ... I'll compare this product to the one I've been using for several years, ... the Orvis Tailwaters No Sweat? Jacket.

The Tailwaters:

The Chota product retails on the I*Net for $289.95 and the Tailwaters go for $198.00 on their site. Is the 90$ difference worth it? That depends on your tastes ...

The CVX100 is full of bells and whistles which make for some striking and some subtle differences.

What the CVX100 has that the Tailwaters doesn't:
  • Fully lined hand warmer pockets.[/*:m:94c81]
  • Double entry pockets (they have zips outside and in, so you can access your vest UNDER the jacket, ... like the good old London Fog Long coats.(waterproof)[/*:m:94c81]
  • Under arm zips for ventilation[/*:m:94c81]
  • A cam lock strap OVER the hood to adjust the draw, ... this helps keep the brim of the hood from dropping down over your eyes.[/*:m:94c81]
  • Zip and snap covers for the two main outer pockets. The snap cover flaps have two lengths to accomodate extra long fly boxes.[/*:m:94c81]
  • Zip on skirt to make the jacket into a long coat for town (really needed??)[/*:m:94c81]
  • Included ball cap that snaps to the hood for "the hood that moves with you, for an unobstructed side view"[/*:m:94c81]
The CVX is constructed of a breatheable membrane in a 2 ply configuration. This means the manufacturer puts a third inner "mesh" liner in the body and full liner in the arms.

We use our jackets as much for cold weather gear as for rain, ... so the extra liner in the arms is a Plus for us, not a draw back.