The Summary:

Few are gonna read all of this to get to my real questions. Therefore I am gonna summarize so I can get some answers. I am a newbie trout fly fishing. I had an incredible experience with a fly hatch and trout take in SE New Mexico. I caught several fish through no fault of my own. I now am hooked and have questions about how this truly works. I wanna ask the old hands these questions to be better prepared. How do you know what bugs are hatching? Do you go by the area experience; do ya try and catch some? How do ya know when the hatch will be? Again is it area or experience? Why do the trout ?gang up?? How long does a hatch usually last? How do you know what the trout are taking, that is the fly, the emerger or what? Are there books or lists of what hatches in what area? What about after the hatch. I did not catch anything for about 2 hours after the hatch, are the trout full, tired, both?

The Hatch Match and Other Musings: A Trout Epiphany

The date was Saturday, June 28, 2008. The time was local 7 to 9 am. The place is the Rio Penasco River on Charlie Mulcock?s ranch 54 miles west of Artesia, NM.
The story is this. I am 59 years old and love to fish. Unhappily for my fishing bug, I live in Midland, Texas. Midland is great for my other passion of upland bird, quail hunting, but takes a toll if you fish, water of any kind is 2 to 3 hours away and very subject to drought. I took up fly fishing two years ago because a friend of mine loved it and I thought I should try it. I started lurking on some fly fishing forums and reading all of the FAOL articles.

Did not take long to learn that the name Lefty Kreh means fly casting. So, got the Cabela?s starter kit and Lefty?s videos and literally within minutes, I am a fly caster (please note that although it is impossible to see on an internet post my tongue is firmly in my cheek at this point.