Lets start this off right, I AM A COMPLETE NOOB to fly fishing. With that said. I have been fishing for several years, just not fly fishing. I caught my first trout when I was 6. We were in the panhandle of Idaho, all I really remember was a crystal clear lake with mountains in the background and I caught it on cheese. My dad cleaned it and we cooked it on the grill for dinner. That was my first and only trout until last spring when I went trout fishing with spinning tackle and decided that I wanted to learn how to fly fish.

So I bought a fly rod and a reel, some line and flies. I spent about a year trying to figure out how it all works. I figured out that I bought a bigger and heavier rod than I needed(10ft 7wt). So I got discouraged and put it all on hold.

This spring rolls around and we head back to Arkansas for spring break(daughter is out of school and wife works for a school so she's out too) to do some more trout fishing. It rained for a day and a half. The park ranger said that they were letting water out of Beaver Lake dam at a rate of 237,000 gallons per second(no trout fishing).

On a whim we take our daughter to kids weekend at Roaring River State Park. She takes a short fly casting class, after about 10 mins and she's done. The instructor walks up to me and states that she's pretty good, with BOTH hands. Now I figure that she will want to learn to fly fish, so I really need to learn how so I can teach her. I do a little spin fishing and catch a couple little rainbow trout.