+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Playing a fish

Hybrid View

Default Playing a fish

Hi all,
    I'm relatively new to saltwater fly fishing (this year to be exact) and I have one question...for now anyway. How do you play a bigger fish? I was into some nice stripers on green and white deceivers over the weekend. The sand eels showed up after the last moon, so the bass are having a good old time right at first light. Up until now, I have only caught small to medium trout in small streams, so playing and landing a fish wasn't that difficult. How does one play, lets say, a 10 lb striper? I'm fishing a 9wt St Croix with a matching St. Croix reel. I know you play the fish on the reel, but how?? Just adjust the drag and let the fish run with it? Any help will be appreciated. Thanks.

Ken
    "Fly fishing is the most fun you can have standing up" Arnold Gingrich

Blog Entries

Smile Drag vs Larger Fish

For salmon, I keep the drag fairly light, enough to not allow the line to backlash and create a bird?s nest, then just a touch more drag. I let the salmon take the fly and they either make a run for it or start jumping immediately. In either case you don?t want a tight drag as they will just break the leader or burn up your reel. I always wear leather palmed sun gloves and I use my palm to create more drag when the fish is making a run. Then it is ma matter if getting it to the boat as quickly as possible, without causing extra damage to the fish, so I can release it and go for the next salmon.

But then, salmon are not stripers so I am not sure how you would handle them.

Larry ---sagefisher---
    Organizations and clubs I belong to:

Fly Fishers International Life Member
    FFI 1000 Stewards member
    FFI Presidents Club
    FFI Fly Tying Group Life Member

Washington State Council FFI
    V.P. Membership

Alpine Fly Fishers Club
    President & Newsletter Editor--The Dead Drift

North Idaho Fly Casters club