+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Loop

Hybrid View

Default Loop

I bet this topic has come up a lot, and is a reocurring thread. But since I couldnt find a thread about it on here, and trying to find websites about this (when I have no experience with them) is not too productive. I have 6 lines that I want to change over, so a fast loop would be great!

Since I have started to use furled leaders, I no longer cna nail knot my line to my leader.

How can I put a loop in my fly line that is, easy, and strong?

I have seen ones that use 15lb mono that you thread through the line, but is that strong? Since I dont have expereince what do you guys do?

Oh also could I use a nail knot to join a loop of backing to the line? Or strip the coating and tie a perfection loop in the flyline core??

thanks for your help,

Fly Tyer;
    The Castwll Knot for leader to Line conection. A loop in the fly line will also help make changes quickly.

To use that knot, you need a loop in the leader. I am not sure that knot is OK to tie to a 'soft' leader'. It is fine with mono or gut, but thread? Maybe not.

Fly Tyer -

Go to the "Learning Experience" forum. Scroll down to "slip on leader loops" by bugman. There is quite a discussion there about what kind of connection to have between your flyline and leader. Should answer most of the questions you have.

Personally, I prefer the braided loops. They are adequate for the kind of fishing I do ( trout ) and work well with the furled leaders I build with thread.

John
    The fish are always right.

Here are two links that illustrate very good ways to put loops on your flyline. I personally use double catch braided loops per the 'Getting looped' article. I also put them on the backing end of the fly line for easy line changes.

www.flyfisherman.com/skills/erloops/index2.html
    www.danblanton.com/gettinglooped.html

thanks,