+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: TFO Pro or Sage Launch??

Hybrid View

Default TFO Pro or Sage Launch??

I'm a total fly fishing newbie and about to purchase my first rod. I've narrowed it down to a Sage Launch or TFO Pro series. I'll be fishing in N. GA and N.C for trout and am looking at something something along the lines of a 9' 5wt with probably a Orvis BBS reel. Price wise the sage is only going to be about $25 more as I will have to buy a case for the TFO. Both of these rods feel good and I'm guessing it is a toss up with probably little real difference between the two but I thought some veterans here might be able to give me some advice. I'm really looking forward to getting into fly fishing as I am coming from the world of serious...real serious bass fishing. Its going to be nice to be able to go fishing and not put $60 worth of petrol in the Truck and another $50 or so to fill up the 200 ETEC hanging off the back of the boat. This hobby looks cheap in comparison. And what really scares me is that I think I am even more interested in learning to tie flies than I am the actual fishing. I hope to pick up a Peak rotary vise this weekend at the fly fishing show in addition to which ever rod you guys/gals steer me towards. Lots to learn but looking forward to it.

Thanks much in advance for any advice!!!

Tom

The Sage is made in the USA. That alone would "seal the deal" for me.
    However, I own 1 Launch rod and it is a fantastic rod for the money spent. It doesnt have the high-end conponents that many other Sage rods have but is still a good rod.
    I dont have any experience with the TFO rod, sorry.
    Mark 1:17

Quote Originally Posted by TomRC View Post