+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: I need casting help...

Default I need casting help...

My casting is a problem. I have just found that out, when I didnt catch a fish, and didnt make a good cast to where I wanted to all day. The main problem is, that there is WAY too much slack in the line, meaning the fly is not getting all the way out there. I do not understand what Im doin can anyone give me some simple casting tips, I am self taught and a beginner.

Smallie14

Fly casting is all about timing. And looking where you want the fly to land. Start daydreaming and the fly will land in dream world.

I'll bet your are just trying to hard to get all the way out. Or you are not putting enough line on the ground to start with. I did that a time or two and when the line hit the end of the slack it bounced back causing a mess of fly line.

The best way (without taking lessons, which I recommend) is to watch someone that is a good caster. If you have a video camera have someone record you. It will be apparent what you are doing wrong if you know the basics. I have a friend here that can be in the backing is a heart beat. He makes so few false cast that I am embarassed how long it takes me to get to the end of my line. Heck he has made his cast and fished the line while I am still getting mine out. But he is my instructor, so he should be a great caster. You find someone in your neck of the woods and get them to teach you. Most of us here are self taught to begin with, some of us are lucky enough to have some lessons with great casters.

And another thing practice doing it right, if you make a few mistakes stop. Take a break and start again. Do not practice mistakes, they become learned. And then really hard to fix.

How far are you trying to cast?

Oh one more thing, there are articles here on casting, this place is a great resource for about anything you can think of in the fly fishing education department.