Yesterday, I responded in a thread about our favorite scissors. I mentioned that I was looking for some made in the US, as I had discovered mine were from Pakistan.
I've been thinking about that, and I have something more to say...
I'm a metalsmith by trade, and basically do most anything with metal, fab work, machining,welding, whatever. However, I ply my trade in a Hardwood Plywood plant. America used to be the biggest builder and product manufacturer in the world, building everything under the sun, and most of our homes and lives were filled with our products. Not so any longer. For various and sundry good reasons, our manufacturers began "outsourcing" ( a new word, and concept, in my lifetime) and the trend is still growing. When NAFTA came about, I had a successful business in the ornamental iron industry, with a good customer base in the interior decoration business. In less than a year, I had gone back to work as a machinist, and had closed the doors of my shop with three employees, due to the huge price undercuts from mostly Mexican manufacturers of the same or similar products. I simply could not compete. NAFTA made it easy for these companies and Americans understandably were drawn by the lower prices. When this happened to my small business, it also happened to countless others like mine, many with far more than three employees. I've been fine, overall, and am still doing fine bringing in a living wage. I'm sure that's not entirely true for many others affected by the same factors. Now, as you all know our economy is in a downturn, with various causes. In the plywood manufacturing industry, we are particularly hard hit. In the low to mid grade panel market, which covers 90% of the home building needs, the Chinese have become huge players. I'm no "tree hugger", nor "radical environmentalist", but I am certainly on the side of being environmentally responsible, and managing sustainable resources. I am a simple, intelligent, reasonable, and conservative fell