Perhaps I am stepping in over my head, or shall we say over my waders, but a couple of threads of mine perhaps need some consolidation or clarification, probably due to one or more of my character flaws. But I am an artist trained to take risks, and a scientist whose stock in trade is questioning. A disclaimer: In my entire history of fly fishing I have seen only one fly fisher other than my wife, and that was when I was crossing a low bridge and saw a wading man fishing a hair bug. I quickly drove down, and on the bank opposite him I made a few casts to show him that I too, fly fished. He, a Korean, walked out of the water, quickly got out of his waders, and got into his car and drove away. Everything I know has come from books, videos, and Web sites.