+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Overlining question

Default Overlining question

I didn't want to highjack the thread about "0wt" and smaller blanks, so I'll start this thread.

It seems more and more people are overlining todays fast blanks just to get them to load and cast decently. This leads me to the question of wether or not the blanks are actuall the line wt they are being sold as. I have a Dan Craft 1wt that is so fast it needs a 3wt line to load and cast decently, and my 4-piece 2wt needs a 3wt to load at all, and a 4wt to cast nicely. Any thoughts on this? Are the manufacturers intentionally mislabeling the blanks or is there something else going on here that I don't understand? So much to learn...so little time.

Joe
    Joe Valencic
    Life Member FFF
    Rod Builder in Chains

Default Re: Overlining question

Since it's been an hour and noone has said anything ...I will....I am far from an expert but these are thoughts that occur to me....

It seems to me it's a good basic question but folks that should know have said they no longer see manufactured rods that don't cast the designated wt the best....right JC?....but maybe rod blanks are different...

I would think that when a person says a rod wants overlining or not it is really the individual's casting style that does.

I'm not a light rod person but I can imagine this scenario.....the fishing conditions don't demand long casts when one choses to use a o/1/2/3/ wt rod so is there a tendency not to carry 30ft in the air??????