+ Reply to Thread

Thread: New Tying Tools - where are they?

Default New Tying Tools - where are they?

Now I am not an expert in the field of fly tying nor fly fishing, but I wonder about tying tools.

Where are the new tool innovations? Inventions?

As I browse online catalogs, clutch my money in fly shops, I search for that tool that will be the "end all" of my tying tool collection - but I don't seem to find any!

Am I wrong? Have we created/invented all there is to fly tying tools?

Think about this, has anyone truly come up with a unique tool lately (past 3 to 5 years) that turned the tying world on it's ear? Is all we do now just a redesign of existing ideas?

Thoughts?
    "Tomorrow is the most important thing in life. Comes into us at midnight very clean. It's perfect when it arrives and it puts itself in our hands. It hopes we've learned something from yesterday." John Wayne.

"When you know, to know that you know, and when you do not know, to know that you do not know - that is true knowledge..." Charlie Chan (author Earl Derr Biggers ...Behind That Curtain 192.

Default Re: New Tying Tools - where are they?

Why do we need new tying tools---I learned to tie holding the hook in my fingers. Only one tool a scissor..........BILL

hmm, don't we have pretty much all there is already?

i mean the only new thing i see now is different finishes on scissors.
    or a midge bobbin here and there.

the one thing i cant think of that really has been awesome in the last years is rotary hackle pliers. i haveapair that i love! dr.slick's with a half-hitch built right into the bottom.

anyways, you better get thinking and hit the patent office, you could be the next person to invent a must have tool. That all of us fly-fishers who have to have everything, will buy!

"hmm, don't we have pretty much all there is already?"