+ Reply to Thread

Thread: weighting wet flies

Default weighting wet flies

When tying wet flies, do you normally weight all of a particular fly the same or do you tie them with different amounts of lead wire to get different sink rates? I'm new to this and am tying basically just buggers and streamers.

Default Re: weighting wet flies

you can use different sizes of lead or non lead wire and vary the number of turns.
    lead wire weighs more than non lead but, lead wire is outlawed in certain waters.

if you choose to use wire then you can weight the rear part of the fly, the shank, front of the shank, tie strips on top of the hook to make it ride point-up for a weedless fly.
    you can vary the number of wraps to make the fly weigh more or less.

another type of weight is beadheads,which can be made out of tungsten, brass, aluminum, and many other materials.
    tungsten is the heaviest but also the ,most expensive.
    bead heads add weight to the front of the fly only but give a nice nose dive sink.
    i personally like beadheads better than lead wire.

another type of weight is the lead or tungsten or aluminum dumbell eyes. they are generally tied on top of the hook shank to make the fly ride point up therefor making it weedless. they add lots of weight for heavy patterns like clouser minnows.

and another type of weight i can think of is bead chain eyes. they add little weight for patterns that you want to ride hook point-up. but not weigh a ton. i use them alot for my trout and bluegill patterns and some bass patterns i want to sink REALLY slowly.

hope this helps

Hi,