+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Redington RS3

Default Redington RS3

Is everyone happy with their Redington RS3 fly rods? I'm in the market for a 9-foot, 5 wt. I have no experience with them and I'm shopping around. You can contact at my private box if you wish.

Little Rock AR, wishing I was still in Anchorage, AK

Default Re: Redington RS3

I have the 9ft 7wt I like it alot, I would buy another if they made blanks for building. Anyway I think redington puts nice components on their rods and the cork is nicer then TFO they also come with a case (tfo dosnt). Oh and they Have the best craftmanship of ALL the rod building companies out there. Hope this helps

Thanks, PaGuy! I build rods, too, although I'm not a professional. Speaking of rod building, how do you know what you're going to get in a fly rod blank before you build it? I mean you can't go into a store and cast it like you do with a factory model. I've built about 15 rods and I'm beginning to wonder if it's worth it. It seems as though it's a crap shoot as far as knowing what you're going to get when you buy a blank.
    Thanks

Blog Entries

I like the 'fit and finish' on my 7 1/2' RS 3 3wgt - but - it is much 'stiffer' than any other 3 (and even most 4s) that I have fished. It didn't really start feeling good until I went to a 5 wgt line.

I'd trade it for an RS 2 in a heartbeat.
    "Flyfishing is not a religion. You can make up your own rules as you go.".. Jim Hatch.. 2/27/'06

I have a 8'6" 4 weight in the RS3 and it's by far my favorite rod. Loads well and feels nice. It has good sensitivity and for the price is a hands down awesome rod. I have cast it's bigger brothers the Sage rods and unless you open the wallet the Redington is a strong competitor. I have owned many rods and never felt a rod this good in the price range it is in. I also own a RS3 in a 5 weight... I must like them.

Little Rock AR, wishing I was still in Anchorage, AK