Hi Folks. My name is Greg and I'm a newbie fly fisherman. I'm also learning to tie my own flies. I bought the Trout Fly Tying kit from Bass Pro Workshops and so far I'm enjoying this part of the hobby.

Now, it's not TOTALLY fair to call this my $3 bench. I had most of the wood laying around my workshop ready to be used for some project. But my total cost for new stuff was about $3 for some dowels and a 3" bolt.

The original problem was that I didn't like the way the fly vise clamped onto the table. I didn't want to mark up our table so I always clamped it to a board. Well, that didn't work so well because I had to hand the board over the edge of the table and my arms didn't rest on the table the way I wanted them to. So I made a little clamp from a couple blocks of maple, a threaded T-nut, and a 3" long 1/4-20 bolt. That's screwed to the workbench from underneath.

Now I can just put my bench on the table and start working.

I soon found that I was collecting more materials than what would fit in the original box that the kit came in. So I build a box for my materials. Being a woodworker I couldn't just glue 4 pieces together, I had to box join the corners and dado the partitions.

I built the box so it was just a bit larger than the workbench. It also has a lip around 3 sides on the top. That way the workbench fits right on top of the materials box. I think I'll add some handles on the sides to make it easier to carry.

See that block of wood with the slot in it? The white piece under it is a piece of 1/8" plywood with paper glued to it. It sits in the wooden block to give me a white background to work against. That really helps my middle age eyes see those tiny flies.

So that's my little $3 workbench. I've been having a lot of fun learning how to tie flies with it. I joke around with my wife saying that it's just one more thing for me to become obsessive compulsive about.

I've been busy.