+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Grass Carp Fly

1. Default Grass Carp Fly

Has anyone (Help me Sister Carol) tied or tried the Sister Carol's Grass Carp Fly? It calls for a 1/0 hook but that seems HUGE especially regarding what my Granddad taught me about carp. Any comments?

Don't grass carp have a different mouth structure than what we usually think of as "bugle lips"?
    ....lee s.

I think the mouth structure is probably the same.
    Kinda reminds me of a male RN I know. He went strictly veggie and got so bound up he missed work for a couple of days!
    1/0 does seem mighty big.
    A #4 floating veggie seems more approriate...if not smaller.
    nam

grass carp do have a different mouth structure. they are not shaped like a common carp at all. i am not an expert on grassers, only caught one while on business in FL (it took a leech). the few other times i've tried for them they spooked when I got the fly close. love to hear how others catch them, i have found grass carp the spookiest fish around.

I have caught mine on a # 4 mustad deer hair fly 1inch long 1/2 diam--the largest last fall over 12 pounds. Going to tie up a few green grass flies. When they mow the lawn the fish love to eat the newly mowings thqt fall in the water. BILL

6. Default Way To Go Sister Carol!

I tied some of her Grass Carp flies for a guy and they worked well. Aparently on Bass as well. They caught one that weighed in at 5 1/2 pounds.

If you want monsters ...troll a bale of hay

Default Re: Grass Carp Fly