+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: What would happen

Default What would happen

if you tried to cast a flyline on the moon?

This is a serious question for the engineers and physicists in the lot.

I'm not a scientist, but one thing I can say for sure. You wouldn't get an rises to your fly!

------------------
    Regards,

Emerger

"Let me catch a four-pounder on no matter what fly, and I'm ready to make that fly the foundation of a new religion." --Arnold Gingrich

If you can't cast a whole line here, you ought to be able to there, LOL.

Brian

Okay. . . lemme have a crack at this
    First, the moon is great for physics because you really can neglect air resistance(at least for the simple stuff). It just doesn't have enough atmosphere. That means wind resistance is out, whoppee! On to the math. . .

I'm going to ball-park this and say that acceleration due to gravity on the moon is 1/6 that of earth's. Earth's acceleration due to gravity is about 10 meters per second-squared. Therefore, gravity on the moon is about 1.667 meters per second-squared. Also, I'm going to judge the tip of a 9' fly rod to be about 3.5 meters from the ground when the line is released in casting.
    So, here's what we have so far. . .

A (gravity) = 1.667 m/s^2
    X (tip of the fly rod to the ground) = 3.5 m

The formula for this problem is pretty straight forward. . .

X = .5(A)(T^2)

Doing a little plug and chug, three-point-five times two is seven, divided by one-point-six-six-seven is a little over four. Square root of that is a smidge over two. So. . . your flyline, casting on the moon, has about two seconds in the air before it hits the ground.

Now, for the subjective part. . . how fast can you throw a line? Your fly line has two seconds to go as far as it can before it hits the ground. Slic (in the chatroom) gave me a figure of 60 feet per second, for a reasonable, average cast. Because. . .

X = Velocity times Time